DJ Richard announces debut album Grind

The White Material co-founder has taken inspiration from Rhode Island’s history.

DJ Richard has announced that he will release his album Grind via the German label Dial Records, who he has built a relationship with since moving from New York (where White Material is based) to Berlin two years ago.

According to a press release, Grind is inspired by an area of DJ Richard’s home state of Rhode Island. “There, from a suspension bridge that crosses the bay, one looks down on Rose Island on one side of said bridge and Gould Island on the other,” it reads. “These two geographical marks of RI, US Navy bunkers and Torpedo loading facilities for submarines during World War II, both transformed into bird sanctuaries now, lay in total disrepair: inaccessible, but central to the entire area… On the cover of the record, their photograph represents DJ Richard’s interest in those instances where the border between civilization and the ocean becomes something more ambiguous than just a coastline.”

Grind will be released 4 September. You can stream tracks samples of the record here and check out the artwork and tracklist below.


01. No Balance
02. Nighthawk
03. Waiting
04. Savage Coast
05. Screes
06. Bane
07. I-Mir
08. Ejected
09. Vampire Dub


(via Resident Advisor)