Sónar Barcelona announce first names for 2016

Barcelona’s Sónar festival have just shared the first acts on their 2016 line-up

Sónar are taking to Barcelona once again for a celebration of music, technology and art between 16 – 18 June 2016. The festival returns to its principal venues Fira Montjuïc which will host Sónar by Day and Fira Gran Via which will host Sónar by Night.

Sónar will host over 150 artists next year. The first wave of artists includes the exciting announcement of ANOHNI – the debut live performance of a new collaboration between Antony & The Johnsons’ Antony Hegarty, Hudson Mohawke and Oneohtrix Point Never.

There will also be another European first in Become Ocean, a compostion by John Luther Adams which concerns climate change and will be performed by the OBC as part of Sónar’s new partnership with L’Audotori.

Elsewhere on the bill you can catch New Order, Kode 9 and Lawrence Lek performing their new concept piece The Nøtel, chief grimesman Skepta, former Czars frontman John Grant, Chicago house and techno mainstay The Black Madonna, Fatboy Slim, Kenny Dope, Matias Aguayo, Acid Arab, Section Boyz and an Ed Banger House Party set.

Tickets go on sale on 27 November, for more information on Sónar’s 2016 Barcelona edition visit their website.