Josh Homme and Iggy Pop announce collaborative album

Post Pop Depression will “pick up where Lust for Life left off”

Two rock giants have joined forces to create a one-off, “secret” (until now) album, Post Pop Depression.

In an interview with New York Times, they recalled how the project began with a text from Pop to Homme: ““It basically said, ‘Hey, it would be great if we got together and maybe write something sometime — Iggy.’”

Then Pop sent a package to Homme containing “quotations from Walt Whitman, poems or potential lyrics by Mr. Pop and other writings including, because Mr. Homme had been curious, terse but detailed notes about Mr. Pop’s Berlin days and the making of the two albums with Mr. Bowie.”

The full band, including Dean Fertita, from Queens of the Stone Age and the Dead Weather, on guitars and keyboards, and Matt Helders, from Arctic Monkeys, on drums, made its debut on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert on Thursday night.

See the performance above.