Xiu Xiu to release album of Twin Peaks reinterpretations

Angelo Badalamenti’s iconic soundtrack is to get a reboot from the noise pop group

Californian noise experimentalists Xiu Xiu are to release a full album of Twin Peaks covers as part of Record Store Day on 16 April via Bella Union.

Named The Music of Twin Peaks, it will feature twelve new takes on Angelo Badalamenti’s affecting original soundtrack.

The band have previously showcased their versions of the soundtrack as part of a segment for an Australian art exhibit titled David Lynch: Between Two Worlds, going on to take those versions on tour internationally.

See the tracklist below, listen to one of the tracks, and read our column from Xiu Xiu’s Jamie Stewart explaining his love for ‘The Staggering Beauty within the Music of Twin Peakshere.


01. Laura Palmer’s Theme
02. Into the Night
03. Audrey’s Dance
04. Packard’s Vibration
05. Nightsea Wind
06. Blue Frank Pink Room
07. Sycamore Tree
08. Harold’s Theme
09. Dance of the Dream Man
10. Falling
11. Love Theme Farewell
12. Josie’s Past