Waxahatchee announces new album Out In The Storm, shares track Silver

It’ll be released on 14 July via Merge Records

Katie Crutchfield – better known for her musical project Waxahatchee – has made the announcement today (18 April). Out In The Storm is set to be Waxahatchee’s fourth studio album, following up from 2015’s Ivy Tripp.

Furthermore, she’s released the video for lead single Silver. On the song, Crutchfield says, “It’s about self-examination and the different shapes that takes, good and bad. I wanted it to be abstract and poetic, but I also wanted to align it with the other songs on the album, since they’re all so connected lyrically.”

According to the press release, the forthcoming album details the period following the “dissolution of a noxious relationship” in which she found herself “depleted emotionally”.

In comparison to Ivy Tripp, which the singer-songwriter says was “a lot of beating around the bush and superficially trying to see my life clearly”, Out In The Storm is set to be “a very honest record about a time in which I was not honest with myself.”

View the new artwork and tracklist below.

Revisit Crack’s interview with Katie Crutchfield here.

1. Never Been Wrong
2. 8 Ball
3. Silver
4. Recite Remorse
5. Sparks Fly
6. Brass Beam
7. Hear You
8. A Little More
9. No Question
10. Fade