Oneohtrix Point Never links up with Iggy Pop for The Pure And The Damned

The elusive producer has revealed the release date for the soundtrack album

Earlier this year, Iggy pop revealed in an interview with Rolling Stone that he’d been working on “something for a movie called Good Time, by the Safdie brothers, by an electronic producer with an unpronounceable name [Oneohtrix Point Never, a.k.a. Daniel Lopatin].”

Today (8 June), the elusive producer Oneohtrix Point Never has announced that he’ll be releasing the new score Good Time Original Motion Picture Soundtrack on 11 August via Warp Records. The album’s first single, The Pure And The Damned, features vocals and lyrics from rock ‘n’ roll icon Iggy Pop. Starring Robert Pattinson, the film tells the tale of Pattinson attempting to rescue his brother from incarceration following a botched bank robbery. At this year’s 70th edition of Cannes Film Festival, Lopatin won the prestigious Cannes Soundtrack Award for the score.

On the Safdie brothers, Lopatin said in a press statement, “To me the Safdies are doing something really unique and yet drenched in tradition. I think of Jarmusch, Tarantino, Carax – directors whose love of the history of cinema is too strong to keep out of the filmmaking itself, but remain totally idiosyncratic anyway.”

He continued, “We share an affection and reverence for bruised and battered stuff, and I think we both feel this urge to enshrine the history as it is now, not as it was then. On our own terms.”

Josh Safdie has described the soundtrack as “some sort of high-resolution fantasy”. On the collaboration, he said, “I had always imagined Dan’s work, especially his earlier work, as soundtracks to movies that never existed. From our collaboration on Good Time, and through the twisted dialogue that surrounded it, we have gained a deep friendship and of course a fluorescent extra-terrestrial score.”

Scroll down for the tracklist and listen to The Pure And The Damned in the player above.

01 Good Time
02 Bail Bonds
03 6th Floor
04 Hospital Escape / Access-A-Ride
05 Ray Wakes Up
06 Entry To White Castle
07 Flashback
08 Adventurers
09 Romance Apocalypse
10 The Acid Hits
11 Leaving The Park
12 Connie
13 The Pure and the Damned feat. Iggy Pop