Hype Williams announce new album Rainbow Edition, drop track Kathy goes 2 Haiti

The album will be out on 25 August via Big Dada

Hype Williams have announced that a new album, entitled Rainbow Edition, is slated for release next month. It’s set to be the follow-up to 2011’s One Nation (Hippos In Tanks), which Hype Williams have clarified, via a press release, was their last set of recordings.

It also makes clear that Dean Blunt and Inga Copeland are both no longer involved with the elusive collaborative project. The press statement reads: “… any Hype Williams releases you’ve since heard are FAKE. Bare Paigons. Like Cappadonna making his own Wu.”

Accompanying the announcement is the release of the new track Kathy goes 2 Haiti – a loosie that won’t be appearing on the forthcoming album. It’s also the only track that the project will be rolling out before the album drop.

Listen to the track in the player above, and peep the vinyl mock-up and tracklist below. You can pre-order the album here.

01. Madting
02. Loud Challenge
03. The Whole Lay
04. Baby Blu
05. Smokebox
06. Rumor Report
07. Puredamage
08. Leimert
09. #Blackcardsmatter
10. Sadting
11. Ask Yee
12. This Is Mister Bigg. How You Doing Mister Bigg
13. The Den
14. Cockblocker Blues
15. Sweet Chin Musik
16. Pretty Young Ting
17. Percy
18. Spinderella’s Dream
19. Situations
20. Kandy