Ryuichi Sakamoto announces async compilation featuring Arca and Oneohtrix Point Never

The Japanese composer Ryuichi Sakamoto

The album will include remixes from Yves Tumor, Fennesz and more

The pioneering composer has announced a remix compilation of his 2017 album async. Async Remodels will feature reworks from artists such as Arca, Oneohtrix Point Never, Yves Tumor, Austrian guitarist and composer Fennesz, Motion Graphics, composer Jóhann Jóhannsson and more. It’s due to be released on 1 December via Milan Records.

The tracklist is yet to be revealed as, according to a press release via RA, an undisclosed tracklist will keep the album “purposely in flux… like some elements of async itself”.

async was Sakamoto’s first solo album in eight years, following up from 2009’s Out of Noise, and the first since his recovery from throat cancer in 2015. A world listening premiere of the composer’s comeback took place at Big Ears Festival in Knoxville, on 24 March. Currently, the artist is hosting an international film competition via his website. The winner will be able to use a new and original piece by Sakamoto for their next project.

Stream Arca’s remix of async below.

(via RA)