Wes Anderson’s Isle of Dogs soundtrack confirmed

Award-winning composer Alexandre Desplat will score Wes Anderson’s upcoming stop-motion film, Isle of Dogs.

The soundtrack will also include pieces from Japanese films Seven Samurai and Drunken Angel, tracks from Japanese taiko artist Kaoru Watanabe, The West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band and The Sauter-Finegan Orchestra.

Desplat has previously worked with the acclaimed director for 2014’s The Grand Budapest Hotel and 2009’s Fantastic Mr. Fox. The composer has also headed up Guillermo del Toro’s 2017 film Shape of Water.

Produced by The Indian Paintbrush, the comedy tells the story of a boy searching for his missing dog in Japan. So far, the first official trailer and voice cast has been revealed. Heading up an all-star cast are Greta Gerwig, Bill Murray, Yoko Ono, Bryan Cranston, Jeff Goldblum, Kunichi Nomura, Akira Takayama, Tilda Swinton and Scarlett Johansson.

The film will open Berlin’s international film festival on 15 February – the first time an animated movie has done so.

Isle of Dogs is scheduled for release in US cinemas on 23 March, 2018, with an international release date set for April 2018. The soundtrack is slated for release on 30 March via ABKCO Records.

Check out the tracklist below.

1. Shinto Shrine – Alexandre Desplat
2. Taiko Drumming – Kaoru Watanabe
3. The Municipal Dome – Alexandre Desplat
4. Six Months Later Dog + Dog – Fight – Alexandre Desplat
5. The Hero Pack – Alexandre Desplat
6. First Crash – Landing – Alexandre Desplat
7. Kanbei & Katsushiro Kikuchiyo’s Mambo (from Seven Samurai) – Toho Symphony Orchestra
8. Second Crash – Landing + Bath House + Beach Attack – Alexandre Desplat
9. Nutmeg – Alexandre Desplat
10. Kosame No Oka (from Drunken Angel) – David Mansfield
11. I Won’t Hurt You – The West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band
12. Toshiro – Alexandre Desplat
13. Jupiter and Oracle + Aboriginal Dogs – Alexandre Desplat
14. Sushi Scene – Alexandre Desplat
15. Midnight Sleighride (from ‘The Lieutenant Kije Suite’) – The Sauter-Finegan Orchestra
16. Pagoda Slide – Alexandre Desplat
17. First Bath of a Stray Dog – Alexandre Desplat
18. TV Drumming – Kaoru Watanabe
19. Konbayashi Canine – Testing Laboratory – Alexandre Desplat
20. Tokyo Shoe Shine Boy – Teruko Akatsuki
21. Re – Election Night Parts 1
22. End Titles – Alexandre Desplat