Mitski announces new album Be The Cowboy, shares Geyser video

The singer-songwriter has announced the follow-up to 2016’s Puberty 2, and it’s called Be The Cowboy.

Due to land on 17 August via Dead Oceans, the announcement comes with an accompanying track and video called Geyser. The lead single is based on a character who can’t bottle up her emotions any longer, unleashing them in a torrent of passion. In a press statement, Mitski explains that the album is based on “a very controlled icy repressed woman who is starting to unravel.”

“Because women have so little power and showing emotion is seen as weakness, this ‘character’ clings to any amount of control she can get. Still, there is something very primordial in her that is trying to find a way to get out,” she says.

The artist adds, “I had been on the road for a long time, which is so isolating, and had to run my own business at the same time. A lot of this record was me not having any feelings, being completely spent but then trying to rally myself and wake up and get back to Mitski.”

Watch Geyser via the player above, and scroll down for the new artwork and tracklist.

1. Geyser
2. Why Didn’t You Stop Me
3. Old Friend
4. A Pearl
5. Lonesome Love
6. Remember My Name
7. Me And My Husband
8. Come Into the Water
9. Nobody
10. Pink in the Night
11. A Horse Named Cold Air
12. Washing Machine Heart
13. Blue Light
14. Two Slow Dancers