Black Midi drop new Speedway EP and sign to Rough Trade

The record consists of a lead single and three remixes.

Black Midi have shared a new EP today (31 January). Entitled Speedway, it features an eponymous single and remixes by Proc Fiskal, Blanck Mass and Kwake. The release coincides with the announcement that the band has signed with indie label Rough Trade.

The release was produced by Dan Carey and comes accompanied with visuals by bassist Cameron Picton. Besides being available on YouTube, it can be purchased as a limited physical 12” at the band’s live shows. Building on previous single bmbmbm, Speedway is a slice of post-punk evoking modern disillusionment and referencing the underside of the urban metropolis.

The band are currently travelling around the UK for their debut headline tour. Additionally, they have announced their first US dates, beginning in San Diego before heading to Los Angeles and New York.

Listen to the Speedway EP via the player above, and read our Issue 96 feature with Black Midi.