Johannes Albert announces new album Lichtenberg

Johannes Albert
© Dirk Puchta

The Renate resident’s first LP since 2013 is pegged for release on 15 March.

Johannes Albert, label owner and resident at Berlin venue Renate, has announced that he will be releasing a new album. Entitled Lichtenberg, after the district in East Berlin, it’s set to be Albert’s first LP since 2013.

Charting acid, 90s rave and EBM, Lichtenberg is a tribute to one of Berlin’s lesser-loved areas. The album’s fluid approach to genre, layering ambient structures over New Wave rhythms, is intended to embody Lichtenberg’s moody atmosphere. The album launch will be celebrated with a party at Renate on 23 March with acts like Lauer, Marlon and Iron Curtis confirmed for the line-up.

Besides his 2013 album Hotel Novalis, the German musician has previously released a string of EPs and singles via his own labels, Frank and Fine.

Check out the album’s artwork and tracklist below.

1. Phony Emotions
2. Hooligan
3. Copper Bolt
4. Mllieu feat. Gundula Schulze Eldowy
5. Wing House
6. Built-In Acceptance feat. Iron Curtis
7. Chestnut Poetry
8. Dong Xuan
9. Whirring in Distance
10. Cell feat. Moritz Heppner