Mac DeMarco announces new album Here Comes the Cowboy, shares video Nobody

Mac DeMarco has announced the follow-up to 2017’s This Old Dog.

Entitled Here Comes the Cowboy, the LP will land on 10 May. It’s set to be the debut release on Mac’s Record Label. Accompanying the announcement is a self-directed video for the album’s first single Nobody. It features the Canadian singer-songwriter in “lizard man makeup” by Californian artist Ryon Wu. Watch the visual via the player above.

Here Comes the Cowboy is set to be DeMarco’s fourth full-length. According to the press release, it was written, tracked and mixed in January 2019 at the Canadian artist’s Brooklyn apartment, Jizz Jazz Studios.

“This one is my cowboy record,” DeMarco says on the upcoming release. “Cowboy is a term of endearment to me, I use it often when referring to people in my life. Where I grew up there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities. These aren’t the people I’m referring to.”

Furthermore, DeMarco has announced a run of UK dates, including shows at Glasgow, Halifax and Margate. He’ll also be playing at this year’s All Points East Festival in London.

Head here to pre-order the album. Check out the artwork and tracklist below, and revisit the time Mac DeMarco performed This Old Dog at a dog grooming parlour.

Mac DeMarco Here Comes the CowboyMac DeMarco Here Comes the Cowboy

1. Here Comes The Cowboy
2. Nobody
3. Finally Alone
4. Little Dogs March
5. Preoccupied
6. Choo Choo
7. K
8. Heart to Heart
9. Hey Cowgirl
10. On the Square
11. All of Our Yesterdays
12. Skyless Moon
13. Baby Bye Bye

UK tour dates
1 June – All Points East Festival, London
26 June – Kelvingrove Bandstand, Glasgow
27 June – Halifax Piece Hall, Halifax
29 June – Dreamland (Mac DeMarco… Will See You Now), Margate