Flying Lotus enlists David Lynch for new video Fire Is Coming

Flying Lotus has announced his new album Flamagra, due for release on 24 May via Warp records.

Set to release nearly half a decade after FlyLo’s 2014 album You’re Dead!, Flamagra will incorporate elements of hip-hop, funk, soul, jazz, global dance music and tribal polyrhythms. A host of collaborators have worked on the LP, including Solange, Tierra Whack, David Lynch, Shabazz Palaces, Thundercat, Anderson .Paak, Denzel Curry, Toro y Moi and more.

Accompanying the album announcement is the new video Fire Is Coming, which stars David Lynch as a storyteller. In the video, the acclaimed director shares an unnerving story to a group of children dressed in animal skins. The visual culminates with the chant, “Fire is coming. Fire is coming. Fire is coming.”

FlyLo said he’d been working on stuff for the past five years. “I’d always had this thematic idea in mind – a lingering concept about fire, an eternal flame sitting on a hill. Some people love it, some people hate it. Some people would go on dates there and some people would burn love letters in the fire.”

The producer hasn’t made it a secret that he’s a fan of Lynch’s work. Back in May 2017, FlyLo played a remix of the Twin Peaks theme song at Seattle Music Festival.

The new album is available to pre-order here. Check out the new artwork and tracklist below.

1. Heroes
2. Post Requisite
3. Heroes In A Half Shell
4. More feat. Anderson .Paak
5. Capillaries
6. Burning Down The House feat. George Clinton
7. Spontaneous feat. Little Dragon
8. Takashi
9. Pilgrim Side Eye
10. All Spies
11. Yellow Belly feat. Tierra Whack
12. Black Balloons Reprise feat. Denzel Curry
13. Fire Is Coming feat. David Lynch
14. Inside Your Home
15. Actually Virtual feat. Shabazz Palaces
16. Andromeda
17. Remind U
18. Say Something
19. Debbie Is Depressed
20. Find Your Own Way Home
21. The Climb feat. Thundercat
22. Pygmy
23. 9 Carrots feat. Toro y Moi
24. FF4
25. Land Of Honey feat. Solange
26. Thank U Malcolm
27. Hot Oct.