Future Islands’ Sam T. Herring to release rap album

Herring has shared the lead single Down.

Future Islands frontman Sam Herring has announced that he will release a rap album under the moniker Hemlock Ernst. Entitled Back at the House, the album is set for a 25 October release and will consist of 11 tracks. Herring worked alongside revered hip-hop producer Kenny Segal for the project having already worked together on Milo’s 2015 track Souvenir.

Speaking of how the album came together, Segal stated: “Me and Sam just had a moment where we clicked and I started sending him beats and around [2016] he started recording some demos that went on to become the backbone of this project.”

“Whenever he was in L.A. we would hang and record and we probably did six or seven songs during that initial period. Then life got in the way, as life tends to do, he had a new Future Islands project that they were touring for… I was working with [Ruby Yacht] and Billy Woods and others, and the project laid dormant through 2017.”

The pair would eventually go on to record the bulk of the album in Herring’s home studio in mid-2018.

To coincide with the announcement of the album, the pair have shared lead single Down. You can listen to that above and take a look at the album’s cover art and tracklist below.


01. North To South
02. Messy
03. Bless The Fire
04. Slabs Of The Sunburnt West
05. Addicted Youth
06 . Down
07. The One
08. Jargonne
09. Stone Soup
10. Back At The House
11. Less Unsettled

Revisit our cover feature with Future Islands.