Ryuichi Sakamoto and Alva Noto to release live album TWO

Ryuichi Sakamoto and Alva Noto

The duo have announced a new album.

Recorded from their 2018 performance at Sydney Opera House, TWO features new improvised work from the two artists and key collaborations. The two-hour performance has been edited down for the LP, which will also be released on vinyl.

TWO was a series of improvised shows that also took place at London’s Barbican Centre, Berlin’s Funkhaus, Barcelona’s Theatre Grec and Melbourne’s Hammer Hall. Ben Marshall, Head of Contemporary Music at the Sydney Opera House, said, “TWO’s pulsing, immersive live performance melded electronic and analogue instrumentation with striking visuals to create one of the most precise, beautiful and challengingly magnetic pieces we have ever had the privilege of staging.”

“That Sakamoto and Noto are pleased enough with the recorded result to share its continuously unfolding, sinuous, questioning music with others is as singular an honour as it was for Sydney Opera House to host them.”

Sakamoto and Noto first met in 1999, and have since released five joint albums, an EP and collaborated on the film score for The Revenant.

Check out the new artwork and tracklist below. You can pre-order TWO here.

Two, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Alva Noto

1. Inosc
2. Propho
3. Trioon II (Live)
4. Scape I
5. Berlin (Live)
6. Scape II
7. Morning (Live)
8. Iano (Live)
9. Emspac
10. Kizuna (Live)
11. Gitrac
12. Monomom
13. Panois
14. Naono (Live)
15. The Revenant Theme (Live)