Thundercat announces new album, It Is What It Is


The new LP from Thundercat lands on 3 April.

Thundercat has announced his fourth album, It Is What It Is. Produced by Flying Lotus and Thundercat and due out via Brainfeeder on 3 April, the new record features collaborations with Ty Dolla $ign, Childish Gambino, Kamasi Washington, Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington (Slave), BADBADNOTGOOD, Louis Cole and Zack Fox.

The follow-up to 2017’s Drunk, Is It What It Is puts a lens on themes such as love, loss and life. As Thundercat, aka Stephen Lee Bruner, explains: “It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand… some things just aren’t meant to be understood.”

Alongside the album announcement, Thundercat has shared a new single Black Qualls, featuring Steve Lacy and Steve Arrington. The track explores what it means to be a black American with a young mindset, as Bruner says: “What it feels like to be in this position right now… the weird ins and outs, we’re talking about those feelings… Part of me knew this [track] was where Steve [Arrington] left us.” According to a press release, the album version of Black Quails will also feature Childish Gambino

Listen to Black Qualls below and pre-order the album here. See below for the album’s artwork, tracklist and Thundercat’s European tour dates.

Thundercat It Is What It Is Credit: Eddie Alcaza


1. Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26
2. Innerstellar Love
3. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)
4. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)
5. Miguel’s Happy Dance
6. How Sway
7. Funny Thing
8. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)
9. Dragonball Durag
10. How I Feel
11. King Of The Hill
12. Unrequited Love
13. Fair Chance (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B)
14. Existential Dread
15. It Is What It Is

2020 Tour Dates
9 April London, UK – Roundhouse
11 April Manchester, UK – Academy
14 April Amsterdam, NL – Paradiso
15 April Paris, FR – Elysée Montmartre
17 April Berlin, DE – Astra