Leon Vynehall announces new album Rare, Forever

© Frank Lebon

Listen to two new tracks from the forthcoming Ninja Tune project now.

Leon Vynehall is releasing a new album titled Rare, Forever on Ninja Tune. Ahead of its April release date, Vynehall has today (10 February) shared two lead singles from the album – Mothra and Ecce! Ego!.

Rare, Forever follows up Vynehall’s critically-acclaimed album Nothing Is Still, released in 2018. In Crack Magazine’s review of Nothing Is Still, writer Jack Needham described the project as one “entrenched in Vynehall’s own personal story” that had “the ability to resonate far beyond its roots”.

On the two new tracks, Vynehall said: “Mothra is the euphoric unfurling of ‘something’. Muted notes fluttering free before returning to the cascade we arrived from, only now with purpose.”

On Ecce! Ego! he added: “The tracks’ title literally translates from Latin to ‘Behold! Me!’ A fitting introduction to an album about my own psyche, I thought. It starts off where Nothing Is Still left off, but rapidly switches to something more fluid, perhaps even sinister. I kind of think of this song as Envelopes (Chapter VI)’s fucked up cousin.”

Rare, Forever will be released on 30 April via Ninja Tune. You can pre-order the album here. Check out Mothra and Ecce! Ego! below.