Jorja Smith shares new song Gone, announces Be Right Back EP

© Rashidi Noah

The follow-up to 2019’s Lost & Found LP

Jorja Smith is releasing a new project. Entitled Be Right Back, the new eight-track release is scheduled to land on 14 May. Ahead of its release, Smith has shared a new track from the project entitled Gone. It’s the second single to be lifted from Be Right Back, following the release of Addicted back in March. Tune into Gone below.

Be Right Back follows Smith’s critically favoured debut album Lost & Found, as well a selection of more recent singles and collaborations. Last year, she teamed up with Crack Magazine cover star Enny for a Peng Black Girls Remix, as well with Popcaan on track Come Over. She also dropped a song entitled By Any Means alongside an accompanying video. Earlier this month, Smith appeared alongside Brent Faiyaz on Sonder’s new single Nobody But You.

It’s called Be Right Back because it’s just something I want my fans to have right now,” says Smith in a press release. “This isn’t an album and these songs wouldn’t have made it. If I needed to make these songs, then someone needs to hear them too.”

Speaking on Gone, she says, “There’s something about being able to write about one thing and for it to mean so many different things to others. I love that this song, well any of my songs really, will be interpreted in different ways, depending on the experiences of the people listening. This one is just me asking why people have to be taken from us.”

Stream Gone here and revisit the Jorja Smith cover story


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by jmoney (@jorjasmith_)