Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood announce new project, The Smile

Thom Yorke, Johnny Greenwood and jazz drummer Tom Skinner have formed a new trio called The Smile. Nigel Godrich, Radiohead’s longtime producer who also plays with Yorke in Atoms for Peace, is also involved.

The project will debut tonight (22 May) as part of Glastonbury Festival’s Live At Worthy Farm stream. Check out the full announcement below. The Live At Worthy Farm stream will also broadcast performances from Kano, PJ Harvey, Wolf Alice, IDLES, Jorja Smith and more.

Tom Skinner is best known as a member of Sons of Kemet alongside former Crack Magazine cover star Shabaka Hutchings. He also performs as a soloist under the name Hello Skinny.

In a statement, festival organiser Emily Eavis said,  “This has all the makings of a special Glastonbury moment.” The news follows a long history between Radiohead and Glastonbury spanning three headline sets (1997, 2003 and 2017) as well as a handful of surprise performances and side project appearances.

The Smile are scheduled to play at 11pm (UK) on the stream which you can access here. Read our Thom Yorke cover story here.