Nils Frahm to share collection of 23 solo piano tracks

Nils Frahm Crack Magazine

Former Crack Magazine cover star Nils Frahm has announced a new album of solo piano music.

Old Friends New Friends brings together 23 previously-unreleased solo piano tracks recorded by Frahm between 2009 and 2021.

Frahm pieced the record together during the pandemic as he used time in lockdown to organise his archives. In a press release, Frahm said “I forgot that some tracks are ten years old, some two, and they’re all played on different pianos. Instead I remembered how, as a fan, I love albums like this. With a lot of my records there’s a point where you feel, ‘This is the centrepiece,’ but here I wasn’t really worrying about that. It still feels like my universe, though, and I’m proud that all these things which I never found a way to unite before now work together. It’s like I tossed flowers indiscriminately into a vase and then realised it looked exactly right.”

Frahm announced the project with the release of All Numbers End which you can listen to below.

Old Friends New Friends will be released on Frahm’s LEITER label on 3 December. Pre-order your copy here.

1. 4:33 (A Tribute to John Cage)
2. Late
3. Berduxa
4. Rain Take
5. Todo Nada
6. Weddinger Walzer
7. In The Making
8. Further In The Making
9. All Numbers End
10. The Idea Machine
11. Then Patterns
12. Corn
13. New Friend
14. Nils Has A New Piano
15. Acting
16. As A Reminder
17. Iced Wood
18. Strickleiter
19. The Chords
20. The Chords (Broken Down)
21. Forgetmenot
22. Restive
23. Old Friend