Boygenius return with trio of singles

Boygenius - Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus and Julien Baker
Harrison Whitford

Their first music since 2018, The band’s debut album, The Record lands on March 31

Boygenius, formed of Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus and Julien Baker have returned to announce their debut album, The Record – which will arrive on March 31 on Interscope.

Each single was written and performed by a different individual from the trio – $20 being the work of Baker, Emily I’m Sorry perfromed bv Bridgers and True Blue from Dacus.

The band developed a cult following after the release of their self-titled debut EP in 2018, and after the group were spotted on the Coachella line-up, rumours swirled about a return. Each artist has enjoyed critically successful solo work over the course of the last few years, with Bridgers’ Punisher, Home Video from Dacus and Little Oblivions from Baker. Bridgers also featured on SZA’s recently released Sophomore album, S.O.S on Ghost In The Machine.

In our review of boygenius, Katie Hawthorne wrote:

“Climbing thrillingly to an inevitable emotional stalemate, the EP sees the artists’ three distinctive voices intertwining, powerful in acapella. The togetherness feels like being let in on a secret.”

She Continued: “Me & My Dog knots lyrics of fever dreams and devastation around a deceptively warm folk-rock riff. Souvenir doubles down on this duality, driving from introspective claustrophobia to huge, sweeping harmonies. Stay Down and Salt in the Wound kick harder still, with piercing reverb punctuating the hush. As friends first and collaborators second, boygenius’ debut makes space for each musician to shine, but it’s their caring approach to sharing the spotlight that makes this supergroup special.”

Find the tracklist for The Record below, and listen to the three singles here. Revisit our interview with Bridgers and Conor Oberst here.


1. Without You Without Them
2. Emily I’m Sorry
3. True Blue
4. Cool About It
5. Not Strong Enough
6. Revolution 0
7. Leonard Cohen
8. Satanist
9. We’re in Love
10. Anti-Curse
11. Letter to an Old Poet