Originally hailing from Greenland, Najaaraq Nicoline Vestbirk AKA Courtesy is an integral figure in her adopted hometown Copenhagen’s club scene. Along with solo residencies in the city’s Culture Box and Bakken venues, she also frequently gigs as part of the tight-knit Apeiron DJ crew, cramming in to booths for frenetic four-way back-to-backs.

Whilst applying for Red Bull Music Academy’s 2014 Tokyo installment, Courtesy dubbed her sound “spacecraft techno”, which serves as an apt summary of the styles on show in her Crack mix.

By turns gritty and cosmic, sparse and claustrophobic, Courtesy’s deft 60-minute workout is an unearthly trip through the Copenhagen underground.

Courtesy performs at Sónar Reykjavik on Friday 19 February.

Follow Courtesy on Soundcloud




Grammar Of Movement – Faint (forthcoming Lobster Theremin)

Papers – Calum (Earwigg)

Gilmer Galibard – Lost Tapes (forthcoming Mörk)

Patricia – Just Visiting (w/ Cloudface) (Opal Tapes)

Paul Trafford – Rubicun iii (Temple)

Regelbau 01 – A1 (Regelbau)

Vault 101 – Korgs Must Die (forthcoming Buldermørk)

Clarence G – Turbine (Close Records)

Senate – Kirsche (Pacific Command)

The Automatic Message – Perihelion (RYC)

Martin Schacke – Blind Pioneer (forthcoming Ectotherm)

Rrose – Vellum (EAUX)

L’estasi Dell’oro – Sky Unknown (Macro)

D. Dan – Ranold The McDanold (forthcoming Techno Is The Devils Music)

Dax J – Requiem Souls (Monnom Black)

Kasper Marott – Ikke noget (Unreleased)