Pinch & Riko Dan

Few have done more for Bristol’s vibrant electronic music scene than Rob Ellis, aka Pinch. Through his label Tectonic and accompanying club night Subloaded, Ellis was instrumental in bringing the fledgling dubstep sound to the city in the mid-00s – and has continued to play a vital role in shaping the city’s shifting sonic landscape ever since.

Over the years Tectonic’s sound has widened in scope considerably, taking in increasing influence from techno, grime and fringe electronica. This shift has led the label – via seminal artists like 2562 and Peverelist – to its current roster, which includes contemporary experimentalists Mumdance, Logos, Ipman and Acre. These artists constitute a new chapter for Tectonic, where the focus is returned to exploring new, hybrid sounds that challenge listeners and resist classification.

Accordingly, Pinch’s mix for us draws on a range of disparate yet sonically related strains of dance music, moving between mutant techno, off-kilter grime and industrial, paranoiac halfstep.

Riding the mix is Tectonic’s go-to MC, Riko Dan, who is soon set to solidify his position on the label with the release of his first solo 12”, the Hard Food EP, which features productions from Joker, Mumdance and Pinch himself. The record marks Tectonic’s 100th release, and stands as a fitting reminder of the label’s central success: that is, bringing the enduring influence of soundsystem culture to bear on the wider context of contemporary club music.

1. Riko Dan x Mumdance – Hungry (Tectonic)
2. Boofy & Ishan Sound – Roll The Dice (Sector 7)
3. Sleeper – Smoke & Mirrors (Unreleased)
4. Ishan Sound & Muttley – Still Smokin (Forthcoming on Tectonic)
5. Riko Dan x Mumdance x Pinch – Riko Time (Pinchmix) (Unreleased)
6. Boofy – Dead Stylus (Innamind Recordings)
7. Jamakabi – Hot It Up (Kahn & Neek remix) (Bandulu)
8. Sleeper – Greens (Unreleased)
9. Pinch & Logos – White Light (Unreleased)
10. Riko Dan x Pinch – Vibrations (Tectonic)
11. Pinch – Swish (Kromestar remix) (Unreleased)
12. Pinch & Mumdance – Control (Tectonic)
13. The Bug Feat. Killa P & Irah – Get Out Of Here (Ninja Tune)
14. Deleted Scenes – Insides (Unreleased)
15. Riko Dan x Walton – Slap It Up (Tectonic)
16. Pinch – Abducted (Aquatic Labs)
17. Pinch – No Credit (Unreleased)
18. Pinch – The Boxer (Kromestar remix)

Riko Dan’s Hard Food EP is out on Tectonic Recordings on 2 March.

Pinch + Riko Dan play Subloaded at Bristol’s Trinity Centre on 23 February alongside Mumdance, Logos, Ipman, Cyrus, Joker and DJ Die.