Either Laurel Collective are one of the best kept secrets in the country, or we’ve been missing a trick somewhere. Because the tunes on this London band’s debut full-length Heartbeat Underground are lush. And not lush in the grand, orchestral sense, but in the sense of “oh my god, that’s LUSH.” See They Hate Me‘s cutesy vocals, given a peculiarly sinister edge by some very intelligent guitar work, and the nagging lick and quirky delivery of Sunshine BuddyCheap’s fuzz-bass displays the band in a harder light, while measured, dynamic closer Fizzing Blood proves the band also know when to leave the trimmings well alone. Smart British guitar pop. We love it.

- – - – - – - – - -

File Next To: Mystery Jets | Animal Collective

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Back to top