Metronomy announce Summer 08, listen to Old Skool now

This month’s Crack Magazine cover stars, Metronomy, are back with their first album since 2013’s Love Letters and you can listen to the first single now

It’s been three years since we’ve heard a full album from Devon’s premier electronic group Metronomy but now they’re back with a brand new single and it’s taken from a brand new album, Summer 08.

The first single Old Skool sees Metronomy main-man Joseph Mount strip back his sound to its roots – a concept he decided to draw on for the entirety of the album “I had those other albums – and how I wanted to record in bigger studios – out of my system,” he explains in a recent press release, “I wanted to make another record with the naivety of Nights Out: ten tracks, straight up, upbeat. Write another banger, then another, and don’t really think about it.”

Mount also told us in his recent Crack Magazine cover feature that he views Summer 08 as a sort of sister record to Nights Out “It’s a symbolic record.” He said, “It’s a kind of companion record to Nights Out, but one which I couldn’t really have done then. It would have been a really bad album.”

The first single, which you can hear above, features the turntable skills of Beastie Boys DJ and producer Mixmaster Mike while elsewhere on the album Swedish pop star Robyn lends her vocals to the track Hang Me Out To Dry which Mount describes as his favourite track on the record.

Check out the video for Old Skool above, scope the tracklist below and grab a copy of Summer 08 when it drops on 1 July via Because Music.


1. Back Together
2. Miami Logic
3. Old Skool (with Mixmaster Mike)
4. 16 Beat
5. Hang Me Out To Dry (with Robyn)
6. Mick Slow
7. My House
8. Night Owl
9. Love’s Not an Obstacle
10. Summer Jam