MF Doom and Danny Brown feature on The Avalanches’ new single

The long-awaited second album from The Avalanches has finally been announced and you can listen to the first single now

Australian production outfit The Avalanches went MIA after releasing their lauded debut album Since I Left You in 2000 and fans have been speculating over their potential follow-up ever since. Today that wait is over as the group have finally announced a follow-up to the album and they’ve even been kind enough to share some new music too.

The band sent out a tweet this morning to announce the album, which will be called Wildflower, saying that “at times we never thought we’d make it through.” It comes after weeks of speculation following a string of festival announcements, teasers and a dial-in hotline that played a snippet of a new song.

The first track is called Frankie Sinatra and it features the band’s signature heavy use of samples alongside the vocal talents of Danny Brown and MF Doom. The accompanying video is suitably bananas and sees a host of people turned insane by some form of neon-yellow potion at a summer fair in the deep South.

Wildflower is due for release on 8 July but in the mean time you can check out the tracklist and some Tweets from the band below and watch the super-weird video for Frankie Sinatra above.

Wildflower Track List:

01. The Leaves Were Falling
02. Because I’m Me
03. Frankie Sinatra
04. Subways
05. Going Home
06. If I Was A Folkstar
07. Colours
08. Zap!
09. Noisy Eater
10. Wildflower
11. Harmony
12. Live A Lifetime Love
13. Park Music
14. Livin’ Underwater (Is Somethin’ Wild)
15. The Wozard Of Iz
16. Over The Turnstiles
17. Sunshine
18. Light Up
19. Kaleidoscopic Lovers
20. Stepkids
21. Saturday Night Inside Out