Pissed Jeans announce new album Why Love Now?

Pissed Jeans Press Shot

Listen to lead single The Bar is Low now

Philadelphia noise rockers Pissed Jeans have just shared details of a new album. Why Love Now? will be the band’s fifth full-length LP and it’s due for release on 24 February via their long time label Sub Pop.

The album sees the band collaborate with Ugly Girls author Lyndsey Hunter who delivers a compelling monologue at the album’s midpoint which is described as “W.B. Mason-inspired erotica – office small talk about pens and coffee given just enough of a twist to expose its filthy underside, with Hunter adopting a grimacing menace that makes its depiction of curdled masculinity even more harrowing.”

The album has been co-produced by No Wave legend Lydia Lunch and metal-legend Arthur Rizk. “I knew she wasn’t a traditional producer,” Vocalist Matt Korvette says of the decision to use Lunch. “We wanted to mix it up a little bit. I like how she’s so cool and really intimidating. I didn’t know how it was going to work out. She ended up being so fucking awesome and crazy. She was super into it, constantly threatening to bend us over the bathtub. I’m not really sure what that entails, but I know she probably wasn’t joking.”

Check out the tracklist, listen to first single The Bar is Low and peep the artwork down below.


1. Waiting On My Horrible Warning
2. The Bar Is Low
3. Ignorecam
4. Cold Whip Cream
5. Love Without Emotion
6. I’m a Man
7. (Won’t Tell You) My Sign
8. It’s Your Knees
9. Worldwide Marine Asset Financial Analyst
10. Have You Ever Been Furniture
11. Activia
12. Not Even Married