Wolfgang Voigt to release first new GAS material in nearly 20 years

Wolfgang Voigt’s highly acclaimed ambient project returns to Kompakt in April

Kompakt founder Wolfgang Voigt has revived his influential ambient project, GAS, with an album of new material due to arrive on 21 April.

Named NARKOPOP, the album comes nearly two decades after POP, the last album Voigt released under the GAS pseudonym. However, a definitive retrospective – entitled BOX – was released last year, a testament to the enduring legacy of the project.

You can view a short teaser of the album via the player above. Keep reading for tracklist and, excitingly, European tour dates.

Available as 3xLP or CD with artbook, the album is available for pre-order now.

01. A1. Narkopop 1
02. A2. Narkopop 2
03. B1. Narkopop 3
04. B2. Narkopop 4
05. B3. Narkopop 5
06. C1. Narkopop 6
07. C2. Narkopop 7
08. D1. Narkopop 8
09. D2. Narkopop 9
10. E. Narkopop10
F. Narkopop 11

Tour Dates
08 April – Jazzhouse, Copenhagen, DK (sold-out)
28 April – Donaufestival, Krems, AT
30 April – Mousontum, Frankfurt, DE
03 June – Primavera, Barcelona, ES
10 June – Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn, DE
23 June – Terraforma, Milan, IT
15 July – Rural Festival, JP
03 August – Dekmantel Festival, Amsterdam, NL
21 August – Kampnagel, Hamburg, DE
09 September – Funkhaus, Berlin, DE
08 October – Barbican, London, UK