Queens of the Stone Age share new single The Way You Used To Do

Villains will be arriving on 25 August via Matador Records

Queens Of The Stone Age are set to make their return this year with the forthcoming Mark Ronson-produced album Villains. It’s been announced today (15 June) that the follow-up to 2013’s …Like Clockwork will be released in August, and the band have shared the first single The Way You Used To Do along with the album’s tracklist and cover art.

On the album’s title, frontman Josh Homme has clarified in the press release that it “has nothing to do with Trump” and it “isn’t a political statement.”

“It’s simply 1) a word that looks fantastic and 2) a comment on the three versions of every scenario: yours, mine and what actually happened,” he explained. “Everyone needs someone or something to rail against – their villain – same as it ever was. You can’t control that. The only thing you can really control is when you let go.”

Co-produced by Mark Rankin and mixed by Alan Moulder, Rankin has said, “We wanted to evolve the production to be processed in a modern way yet be totally organic and still performed fully live.” Mark Ronson has described his experiencing working with the band as “a very heavy, dark, wonderful dream”.

Furthermore, the band have announced a string of UK tour dates. Tickets go on sale at 9am, on 21 June and you can purchase them here.

Listen to their new single in the player above, and scroll down to see the new cover art, tracklist and tour dates. The album is available to pre-order via their site.

01. Feet Don’t Fail Me
02. The Way You Used To Do
03. Domesticated Animals
04. Fortress
05. Head Like A Haunted House
06. Un-Reborn Again
07. Hideaway
08. The Evil Has Landed
09. Villains Of Circumstance

Tour dates
19 November – Manchester Arena
21 November – The O2, London
23 November – Usher Hall, Edinburgh
24 November – 3Arena, Dublin