Dave, Stormzy and Nick Cave nominated for AIM Awards 2017

The nominees for this year’s Association of Independent Music Awards have been announced

AIM Awards have revealed their list of nominees for their 2017 edition. Now in their seventh year, the organisation represents the UK’s indie sector. Crack cover star and fast-rising talent Dave has been nominated for Independent Breakthrough of the Year, Independent Track of the Year and the PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act.

Among the list of nominees are Stormzy, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Jlin, Sampha, Giggs and more.

Check out the full list of awards and nominees below, and read Dave’s first ever cover story on Crack.

Best Small Label (in association with Proper Music Distribution)
Cannibal Hymns
LAB Records
Local Action
Planet Mu
Shogun Audio

Special Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with MCPS)
Alice Coltrane – The Ecstatic Music of Alice Coltrane Turiyasangitananda
Buzzcocks – Time’s Up
Erasure – From Moscow To Mars: An Erasure Anthology
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Lovely Creatures: The Best of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds (1984 – 2014)
Steve Hillage – Searching For The Spark

Best Difficult Second Album (in association with Radio X)
Bear’s Den – Red Earth & Pouring Rain
Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes – Modern Ruin
Jlin – Black Origami
Little Simz – Stillness in Wonderland
Songhoy Blues – Résistance

Hardest Working Band or Artist
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Little Simz
Michael Chapman

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF, voted for via DIY)
Brainchild Festival
Handmade Festival
Hospitality In The Park
Lost Evenings

Independent Breakthrough of the Year (in association with YouTube)
Angel Olsen
Jane Weaver

Indie Champion Award
Andy Carr – The Kids Are Solid Gold
Jess Partridge – Vice / London in Stereo
John Kennedy – Radio X
Katie Riding & Joe Daniel – Indie Label Market
Stephen Ackroyd – Dork / Upset

Independent Video of the Year (in association with Vevo)
Bonobo – No Reason
DJ Shadow – Nobody Speak (feat. Run The Jewels)
FEMME – Fire With Fire
Jacob Plant – Bike Engine
The Blaze – Territory
The Japanese House – Saw You in a Dream

Best Live Act (voted for by visitors to Songkick)
Jack Savoretti
Rick Astley

Independent Track of the Year (in association with Spotify)
Dave – Wanna Know
Goldfrapp – Anymore
Jane Weaver – Slow Motion
Joe Goddard – Music Is The Answer
Methyl Ethel – Ubu
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Jesus Alone
Sacred Paws – Everyday
Sampha – (No One Knows Me) Like the Piano
Stormzy – Big For Your Boots
The xx – On Hold

Independent Label of the Year (in association with Believe)
Because Music
Heavenly Recordings
Hospital Records
Matador Records
Nuclear Blast

Outstanding Contribution to Music
The Dillinger Escape Plan

Pioneer Award (in association with The Orchard)
Steve Beckett – Warp Records

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act
Gavin James
Viola Beach

Independent Album of the Year (in association with INgrooves)
Bing & Ruth – No Home of the Mind
Childish Gambino – “Awaken, My Love!”
Giggs – Landlord
Jane Weaver – Modern Kosmology
Jlin – Black Origami
Justice – Woman
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Skeleton Tree
Sacred Paws – Strike A Match
Stormzy – Gang Signs & Prayer