Solange unveils online collaborative project Seventy States with Tate Modern

The digital display features unreleased performance pieces

Solange has released the digital project Seventy States, created in collaboration with Tate Modern. Featuring exclusive performance pieces and poems, Seventy States explores visual language and presents a series of videos complemented by verses on one page.

The online interactive dossier also includes We Sleep In Our Clothes – an original piece and score by the artist. Directed by Alan Del Rio Ortiz, the performance showcases an installation by artist Ricardo Basbaum.

On the project, Solange said in a press statement: “I wanted to create a specific scenography through movement and landscape to communicate my states of process through this record, I decided to do this through a visual language.”

Seventy States coincides with the Tate Modern exhibition Soul of a Nation: Art in the Age of Black Power. The online manifesto reads:

Seventy States
I mourned. I grieved. I raged. I feared. I felt triumph.
I often thought of their laughter amongst troubled waters and painful hardships; their ability to transform.
I studied the way they spoke over the line, and tried to sketch their faces and trace the windows of their car doors and homes in my mind.
I was often wrong

The interactive online project is now live on the Tate’s site. The institute will be animated with the digital display on 25 August, for a Uniqlo Tate Late.

Revisit Crack’s review of Solange’s A Seat At The Table.