Dekmantel enlist Tony Allen, Ricardo Villalobos and Motor City Drum Ensemble for final anniversary EP

Dekmantel have announced the final instalment of their 10-part EP series, and it’s due to be released in two parts.

The anniversary series will feature different versions of Tony Allen’s Asiko (In A Silent Mix), lifted from his 1999 album Black VoicesDekmantel 10 Years 10.1, the first half of the final instalment, will be comprised of an extensive 29-minute remix of the Afrobeat pioneer’s cut from former Crack cover star Ricardo Villalobos. According to the press release, the techno veteran “warps the vocals, restructuring the bass and drums into a rolling dub-fusion of techno”.

The second issue will see Motor City Drum Ensemble step up for remix duties and embellish the cut with added house beats. On the B side, the EP will include the original mix from Allen.

The first EP is due to land on 26 March, with the second half arriving on 30 April.

Stream some samples from the upcoming releases below, and scroll down for the artwork and tracklists.

Revisit Crack’s interviews with Tony Allen and Motor City Drum Ensemble.

Dekmantel 10 Years 10.1
A1. Tony Allen – Asiko (In A Silent Mix) (Ricardo Villalobos Remix Part 1)
B1. Tony Allen – Asiko (In A Silent Mix) (Ricardo Villalobos Remix Part 2)

Dekmantel 10 years 10.2
A1. Tony Allen – Asiko (In A Silent Mix) (Motor City Drum Ensemble Remix)
B1. Tony Allen – Asiko (In A Silent Mix) (Original Mix)