Helena Hauff announces new album Qualm

Helena Hauff
© Vitali Gelwich

Last week, the Ninja Tune signee teased the news that there may be a follow-up to her 2015 LP Discreet Desires. In a tweet, the label posted a screenshot of an email from the Hamburg producer, containing a link to an album with the line, “Hope you like it, it’s raw”.

Now, the former Crack Magazine cover star has announced the details of her upcoming LP, Qualm. The 12-track release is set to land on 3 August, and accompanying the announcement is a double single entitled Qualm / No Qualms. 

In line with her raw analogue sound, Hauff said in a press statement that she was “trying to create something powerful without using too many instruments and layers” on the LP. The title plays upon a dual idea. According to the press release, “the German word ‘Qualm’ ( kvalm) translates as fumes or smoke, whilst the English meaning refers to an uneasy feeling of doubt, worry, or fear, especially about one’s own conduct.”

Recently, Hauff stepped up for the 200th instalment of our Crack Mix series. Earlier this year she contributed the track Sloe to the EP No Return Vol. 2, released via her own label Return to Disorder.

Stream Qualm / No Qualms below, and scroll down for the new artwork and tracklist. You can pre-order the album here.

Helena Hauff, Qualm

1. Barrow Boot Boys
2. Lifestyle Guru
3. btdr-revisited
4. Entropy Created You and Me
5. Fag Butts in the Fire Bucket
6. Hyper-Intelligent Genetically Enriched Cyborg
7. The Smell of Suds and Steel
8. Primordial Sludge
9. Qualm
10. No Qualms
11. Panegyric
12. It Was All Fields Around Here When I Was a Kid