Courtesy launches new Kulør label to spotlight Copenhagen artists

Copenhagen DJ Najaaraq Vestbirk, better known as Courtesy has launched a new label.

The first release of Kulør, which means colour in Courtesy’s native tongue, will be a compilation spotlighting Copenhagen’s current underground scene. Kulør001 will feature 10 tracks from artists such as Schacke, Sugar, IBON, Repro, Rune Bagge and more. Accompanying the announcement is the first single Automated Lover by techno and noise artist Schacke.

“Sonically there’s something wild happening in Copenhagen at the moment, and I hope this compilation can act as a point of reference for people to start digging into the magic that these guys are creating,” Courtesy writes. “They have given me such amazing music to work with, music that I’m honoured to get the chance to release. It’s been scary to start something on this scale solo for the first time, but also extremely exciting.”

“Concerning Kulør more generally, it’s a platform where I have as high ambitions with the visual aspects as I have with the music. I’ve been lucky to work with photographer Fee-Gloria Groenemeyer in developing the artwork concept for Kulør001 and the graphic design wizards at Spine Studio in Copenhagen, who will be my visual partners in this project.”

Courtesy formerly ran the Ecototherm label alongside Mama Snake, but the label closed down earlier this year.

Kulør001 is slated for release on 11 October. Listen to Automated Lover via the player above, and check out the artwork and tracklist below. You can pre-order the compilation here.

Courtesy, Kulør001

A1. Schacke – Automated Lover
B1. Sugar – Drowner
B2. IBON – Forest Car
C1. Repro – Det Går Dårligt
C2. Sugar – Same But Different
D1. IBON – No Sleep
D2. Repro – Hot Led Payoff
E1. Schacke – Designer Of Worlds
F1. Rune Bagge – This Could Be Us
F2. Funeral Future – Heute Nicht

Courtesy will play at Crack Magazine’s Motion party on 8 December.