Deena Abdelwahed readies debut album Khonnar

Deena Abdelwahed, Khonnar

Khonnar lands next month via InFiné.

Tunisian producer and DJ Deena Abdelwahed has detailed her forthcoming debut album. Out in November on French label InFiné, Khonnar – pronounced ‘ronnar’ – takes its name from an untranslatable Tunisian word that evokes the dark, shameful and disturbing.

The album explores ideas of politics, gender, identity and geography, themes which thread through Abdelwahed’s music. According to the press release, “Khonnar is the manifesto of a generation that does not seek to please or to conform, which pushes our backs to the wall, and is abruptly taking back control of its identity, with all the inherent losses and chaos.”

The album follows her breakout, club-focused EP Klabb, released on InFiné last spring. The same year, Abdelwahed collaborated with Fever Ray on the artist’s critically acclaimed LP Plunge. In September, Abdelwahed was named one of Crack Magazine’s 25 Artists Shaping the Future.

Khonnar is released on 16 November. View the tracklist below.

1. Saratan
2. Ababab
3. Tawa
4. Fdhiha
5. Ken Skett…
6. Al Hobb Al Mouharreb
7. 5/5
8. A Scream in the Consciousness
9. Rabbouni

Deena Abdelwahed plays Simple Things Festival in Bristol, on 20 October.