IDLES, Holly Herndon, FKA twigs shortlisted for AIM Independent Music Awards

IDLES, Glastonbury 2019 © Chris Cooper
© Chris Cooper

IDLES and Jade Bird lead the nominations for September’s AIM Independent Music Awards.

The Association of Independent Music has announced the shortlist for this year’s AIM Independent Music Awards. Bristol punk band IDLES, and singer-songwriter Jade Bird lead the shortlist with four and three nominations respectively. The awards aim to showcase the best of the independent music community.

Past Crack Magazine cover stars FKA twigs, Christine and the Queens, Dave, and Little Simz are among the nominees. KOKOROKO, Ezra Collective, Black Midi, Holly Herndon, Four Tet, Georgia, Maribou State and Fontaines D.C. have also been shortlisted. Categories span from International Breakthrough to Independent Album of the Year.

The first-ever nominees for a new category for 2019 – One To Watch – have also been revealed. In association with BBC Music Introducing, the One to Watch Award champions fast-rising grassroots independent artists. Nominees include KOKOROKO, Arlo Parks, Barney Artist, Georgia and Larkins.

Meanwhile, Blondie’s Debbie Harry is set to take home to the Outstanding Contribution to Music Award in recognition of a career that spans five decades.

The awards will take place on 3 September at London’s Roundhouse Theatre. Vote for your favourite live act here. Ticket to the awards are available on the Roundhouse’s website.