Sampa the Great announces debut album The Return

Watch the video for new single OMG now.

Sampa the Great has announced her debut album, The Return, which is set to arrive on 13 September via Ninja Tune. She has also released the second single from the album titled OMG. The Return is an epic 19-track record and includes collaborations with SILENTJAY, Whosane, Mwanje Tembo, Steam Down, Ecca Vandel and more. It also includes the single Final Form, which was released in June.

The new single from the album, OMG, is released alongside a brand new Sanjay De Silva-directed music video, which you can check out now in the player above. The video was filmed between South Africa and Botswana, where Sampa was raised and features her parents as part of the film.

The Return promises a re-telling of the idea of home – Sampa’s return to home is told through each track. The new single explores her African heritage: “I personally feel that people on the continent have a duty to our family in the diaspora, to re-teach our culture, language, spirituality, ways and return our peeps to ourselves,” she explains. “To me, OMG sounds like the songs we heard in our childhood. It’s broadly about flexing your culture! Loving where you’re from and even being shocked at the realisation of not knowing how dope it is to be ‘who you are’.”

In addition to upcoming shows at Somerset House, London with Sons of Kemet (13 July) and performances at New York’s Elsewhere: Zone One (18 July), and BRIC festival in Brooklyn (19 July), Sampa has also announced dates for a large EU headline tour in November. Dates include shows in London, Manchester, Bristol, Leeds, Berlin, and Amsterdam.

Take a look at the cover art and tracklist from The Return below.

Sampa the Great the return album cover

01. Mwana (feat. Mwanje Tembo, Theresa Mutale Tembo, Sunburnt Soul Choir)
02. Freedom
03. Wake Up (Interlude)
04. Time’s Up (feat. Krown)
05. Grass Is Greener
06. Dare To Fly (feat. Ecca Vandal)
07. Any Day (feat. Whosane)
08. OMG
09. Light It Up (Interlude)
10. Final Form
11. Heaven (feat. Whosane)
12. Diamond In The Ruff (feat. Thando, Krown)
13. Leading Us Home
14. Summer (feat. Steam Down)
15. Brand New (feat. SILENTJAY)
16. Give Love (Interlude)
17. The Return (feat. Thando, Jace XL, Alien, Whosane)
18. Don’t Give Up (feat. Mandarin Dreams)
19. Made Us Better (feat. Blue Lab Beats, Boadi, Lori)