Thom Yorke releases Not the News remix EP

I See You

The Radiohead frontman has released an EP of remixes today (2 August).

After announcing the EP yesterday (1 August), Thom Yorke has now dropped the four-track release. Featuring edits of the ANIMA track Not the News, artists who’ve stepped up for remixes include Equiknoxx, Warp Record’s Mark Pritchard and Clark. The four-track EP can be streamed online now, and a limited edition white label 12” is available in stores.

ANIMA arrived in July and it came accompanied by a short Netflix film directed by Paul Thomas Anderson. The soundtrack to the film features the tracks Not the News, Traffic and Dawn Chorus. AINMA is the Radiohead frontman’s first solo album since 2014’s Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes. 

In our Issue 100 cover story, Yorke told Crack Magazine that ANIMA‘s dystopian feel is due, in some part, to his anxiety. “The dystopian thing is one part of it, yes, but for me, one of the big, prevailing things was a sense of anxiety,” he said. “If you suffer from anxiety it manifests itself in unpredictable ways.”

He added, “For some reason I thought a really good way of expressing anxiety creatively was in a dystopian environment. I had so many visual things going on at this point.”

Check out the tracklist for the new EP below.

01. Not the News (Extendo Mix)
02. Not the News (Mark Pritchard Remix)
03. Not the News (Equiknoxx Remix) feat. Time Cow and Gavsborg
04. Not the News (Clark Remix)