Grimes announces Miss Anthropocene release date, shares new track

The art-pop auteur has detailed her upcoming LP.

Grimes has shared So Heavy I Fell Through the Earth, the second single from her next album Miss Anthropocene. Furthermore, the artist has revealed that the new album will arrive on 21 February 2020 via 4AD, and shared the new tracklist.

So Heavy I Fell Through the Earth follows the release of Violence, a collaborative single with producer i_o, which was released in September.

In Crack Magazine’s Issue 99 cover story, Grimes said on Miss Anthropocene, “The way I figure it is that climate change sucks and no one wants to read about it because the only time you hear about it is when you’re getting guilted. I wanted to make climate change fun. Miss Anthropocene has got a Voldemort kind of vibe. She’s naked all the time and she’s made out of ivory and oil. It’s going to be super tight.”

The track My Name Is Dark is based on a new character Grimes is exploring on the new LP. “Dark is going to be my main alter ego,” she said. “It’s visually the best thing I’ve ever come up with. Everyone is very tired of me making metal and screamo and stuff, so that can just be Dark.”

Listen to the new single via the player above, and check out the tracklist for Miss Anthropocene below.

01 – So Heavy I Fell Through the Earth (Art Mix)
02 – Darkseid (Grimes & 潘PAN)
03 – Delete Forever
04 – Violence (Grimes & i_o)
05 – 4ÆM
06 – New Gods
07 – My Name Is Dark
08 – You’ll miss me when I’m not around
09 – Before the fever
10 – IDORU