Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien shares new track Shangri-La, announces new album Earth

The Radiohead guitarist has shared a new single from his upcoming solo album Earth.

This morning, Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien shared the details of his upcoming solo album Earth. Due for release on 17 April, the album will be O’Brien’s debut as a solo artist. Ahead of the album’s official release, O’Brien also shared his latest single Shangri-La (listen in the player above).

The news comes just days after Radiohead drummer Philip Selway told NME the group would be taking a year away from music to focus on their individual solo projects. In recent years, lead singer Thom Yorke has composed the soundtrack to Luca Guadagnino’s 2018 supernatural horror film Suspiria and released his third solo album ANIMA back in June 2019. Meanwhile, Jonny Greenwood has launched his own classical music label, Octatonic, while Selway has scored new film Carmilla.

The band also recently launched the Radiohead Public Library – an online archive for Radiohead-related content, allowing fans to create their own library card and access curated material from the group’s back catalogue.

Earth will be released under the O’Brien’s moniker EOB. The LP also includes the previously released track Brasil.

Click here to pre-order the album. Check out the album tracklist and artwork below.

1. Shangri-La
2. Brasil
3. Deep Days
4. Long Time Coming
5. Mass
6. Banksters
7. Sail On
8. Olympik
9. Cloak of the Night