Marta De Pascalis experiments with tape loops on new album Sonus Ruinae

Marta De Pascalis

Marta De Pascalis has released her new album Sonus Ruinae, marking her first release on Morphine Records.

The eight-track album centres around her practice of tape looping; taking excerpts of analogue synth patterns and repeating them to create kaleidoscoping soundscapes.

Sonus Ruinae was recorded at WORM in Rotterdam and takes influence from pioneering, experimental composers such as Gruppo di Improvvisazione and Battiato. Marta De Pascalis is part of SHAPE’s roster of artists, a platform for innovative music and audiovisual art from Europe.

You can purchase the digital or the 12-inch vinyl LP now via Bandcamp. Check out the artwork and tracklist below.

Sonus Ruinae

1. Volta
2. Sonus Ruinae Part 1
3. Move of Radiance
4. Arena Void
5. Argentea
6. Dust Pavillions
7. Sonus Ruinae Part 2
8. The Echoing Shore