The xx announce 10th anniversary reissue of Coexist

The xx

The limited edition reissue also features live versions of Angels, Chained and Reunion & Sunset.

To mark its 10th anniversary, The xx – aka the London-based trio of Romy Madley-Croft, Oliver Sims and Jamie xx – have announced a reissue of their second album Coexist. The record was originally released in 2012 and it became the best-selling vinyl release of that year as well as building on the success of the trio’s self-titled debut. To celebrate the landmark, Coexist is being repressed on limited edition, crystal clear vinyl with an expanded digital version including live recordings of four of their tracks.

In a press statement on Coexist, the band said: “The special thing of having records is that they are a concrete diary, a moment in our friendship… The fact that it’s been 10 years and reflecting on that time passing and the music belonging to other people in those 10 years – Coexist means something to us – but the connections that people have to those songs now. Fleeting moments of people saying they got married walking down the aisle to Angels, that is very surreal and special to be part of those peoples lives.”

Whilst the trio has been taking a break since their 2017 release I See You, they have been working on their respective solo projects. Earlier this year Oliver Sims made his solo debut with track Romance with a Memory followed by his album Hideous Bastard – released in September. Last year, The xx hinted at new music together via a snippet shared on Instagram.

The xx have a current ongoing residency with Apple Music 1 and shared an episode of Interludes Radio – their monthly radio show – dedicated to Coexist. As part of this, the band invited fans to share their experiences of the record over the past decade. The episode can be listened to here.

Full Coexist (Deluxe Edition) tracklist:

1. Angels
2. Chained
3. Fiction
4. Try
5. Reunion
6. Sunset
7. Missing
8. Tides
9. Unfold
10. Swept Away
11. Our Song
12. Angels (Live)
13. Chained (Live)
14. Reunion & Sunset (Live)