News //


Stream Chief Keef and Gucci Mane’s new mixtape //

Atlanta trap boss Gucci Mane and Chicago’s Glo Gang head honcho Chief Keef, have just dropped a new collaborative mix tape a day ahead of its planned release date. The pair first collaborated on Gucci’s 2013 album Trap House 3 and have since worked together on various tracks. As well as this collaboration, which the pair have titled Big Gucci Sosa… Read more »


Shapes: The Chapel Of Lost Souls //

Shapes are gearing up for their annual Halloween bash, which is set to take place tonight in an as-of-yet undisclosed location in Bristol’s city centre. With no headliner announced either, the fact that the cosy 250 capacity event sold out in a matter of hours speaks to the success of previous efforts – last year’s… Read more »


Angel Olsen shares new song ‘May As Well’ //

Back in February, Angel Olsen released her lauded album Burn Your Fire For No Witness, which is now set to get a deluxe reissue through Jagjaguwar on 18 November. Along with the news of the deluxe edition, the singer has also shared a new track May As Well, which will be released as a bonus track on… Read more »


Jay Rock shares new single ‘Pay for It’ featuring Kendrick Lamar //

LA rapper Jay Rock, a member of the Black Hippy collective along with Kendrick Lamar, Schoolboy Q and Ab-Soul, has shared his new single Pay for It. The track features guest appearances from Lamar and Canadian singer-songwriter Chanal. You can listen to the track and revisit Jay Rock’s show-stealing verse on good kid, m.A.A.d city track… Read more »


Hear PJ Harvey’s cover of Nick Cave’s ‘Red Right Hand’ //

PJ Harvey has recorded a cover of Nick Cave’s Red Right Hand for the BBC TV series Peaky Blinders, which is about a group of Birmingham gangsters active during the aftermath of World War 1. Speaking to BBC Radio 6, PJ Harvey and Peaky Blinders soundtrack producer Mark “Flood” Ellis explained that he enlisted Harvey… Read more »


Young Fathers win the Mercury Music Prize //

Well, that was unexpected wasn’t it? Young Fathers have won this year’s Mercury Music Prize, which includes a £20,000 check. Revisit our 2013 interview with the Edinburgh trio here, and read the full list of Mercury nominees below. FKA Twigs – LP1 Young Fathers – Dead East India Youth – Total Strife Forever Bombay Bicycle Club – So Long,… Read more »


CTM festival announces first wave of acts for 2015 //

CTM festival has announced the first names booked to play the Berlin festival. Taking place 23 January through to 2 February, the annual experimental music festival is once again set to host a variety of acts across various venues in the city, including Berghain, Stattbad, Astra and Haus der Kulturen der Welt. The names confirmed… Read more »


Oval Space announce NYD plans with Nina Kraviz //

Oval Space have revealed their New Years Day line-up. Presented by London promoters We Concur, on NYD they have extended sets from Nina Kraviz, Alan Fitzpatrick, Rachel Lyn and Recondite, who will be playing an exclusive extended live set. The club will be open from 9pm January 1st to 8am January 2nd. We Concur’s New… Read more »

Screen Shot 2014-10-29 at 14.30.23

Watch the new clip for FKA Twigs ‘Video Girl’ //

Former Crack cover star and Mercury Prize nominee FKA Twigs’ videos have been a huge focal point in her rapidly growing career. The singer’s latest clip for new single Video Girl sees her witnessing a prison execution as she dances to the track in her trademark style around the incarcerated victim. Check out the eerily disconcerting,… Read more »


Lunice shares video for new single ‘Can’t Wait To’ //

Lunice has shared the video for his new single Can’t Wait To, which features the relentlessly energetic Montreal producer dancing among beams of light on a flamboyantly designed set. At the end of last year, Lunice and Hudson Mohawke announced a hiatus for their TNGHT project, and Can’t Wait To marks Lunice’s first solo release since… Read more »


Hear Nicki Minaj new single “Only” //

Nicki Minaj has shared her new feature-heavy new single Only, which should hopefully tide fans over until the release date of her highly-anticipated album The Pinkprint, as it’s now been pushed from 24 November to 14 December. Featuring verses from Drake, Lil Wayne and a hook from Chris Brown, the track sees Minaj in fierce… Read more »


Sharon Van Etten announces UK tour for 2015 //

Following glowing reviews for her latest album Are We There, released earlier this year, Sharon Van Etten has announced a headline show at London’s Shepherd’s Bush Empire for 29 April 2015. Tickets go on sale 9am Friday and are available here. The tour will also include shows in Bristol, Dublin, Leeds and Gateshead. See full UK… Read more »


Nina Kraviz to mix DJ Kicks //

Nina Kraviz is the latest selector chosen to mix !K7′s seminal DJ Kicks series. Featuring a wealth of exclusive, unreleased tracks from her own label трип, according to the press release the Russian techno DJ and former Crack cover star‘s idea behind the mix was to create “a trippy underwater vibe. A mysterious, sonic journey,… Read more »


Japan’s cabinet set to lift ban on late night dancing //

Japan’s cabinet has approved plans to lift the country’s ban on late night dancing. Japan has been set to relax the 66-year-old ‘fuzoku’ law since a committee recommendation earlier this year, where the committee was said to give the ‘stamp of approval’ to all-night dancing, coming to a unanimous conclusion that the law regulating dance… Read more »


Listen to ‘Merchandise’ from Fugazi’s first demo //

26 years since it was recorded, Fugazi are releasing their first demo. The eleven track cassette was never officially released but was distributed at shows and contained early takes of tracks like Waiting Room and Furniture. The demo is set to be released via Dischord on 18 November. The band have made one previously unreleased… Read more »


Hear the full version of rare Earl Sweatshirt track ‘Rats’ //

Ealier this year, a previously unheard Earl Sweatshirt track called Rats appeared on Youtube. The track was reportedly produced by Odd Future leader Tyler, The Creator and recorded in 2010. However, a longer and apparently legitimate version of the track has been emailed to Pigeon & Planes with the following message: “First of all I… Read more »


30 new additions announced for DRILL : BRIGHTON //

DRILL : BRIGHTON, the festival curated by Wire and One Inch Badge, have announced 30 further acts to join an ambitious line-up already featuring the likes of Swans, Savages and Mono. The new additions include British Sea Power, appearing with the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra Brass Quintet, Young Fathers, Three Trapped Tigers, Cassetteboy Vs DJ Rubbish and… Read more »


fabric announce fabriclive Winter 2014 season //

Fabric have announced the line-up for the next three month’s of their fabriclive series. They’ve put up the listings for every Friday until 27 February on their website, and among the extensive line-ups, including the return of Daniel Avery’s new Divided Love residency, as well as showcases from Playaz, Butterz, Livity Sound, Hessle Audio, RAM… Read more »


Don Delillo reviews Taylor Swift’s ‘White Noise’ //

A couple of days ago, a glitch in the iTunes matrix lead to Taylor Swift releasing eight seconds of white noise and shooting to the number one spot in the Canadian charts. While the story itself is noteworthy on many levels, things have taken a turn for the meta as Don Delillo has now reviewed… Read more »

Back to top