Kim Gordon announces debut solo album No Home Record

The Sonic Youth founder has announced her first-ever solo album.

Entitled No Home Record, the nine-track release will arrive on 11 October via Matador Records. The LP has been largely produced by Justin Raisen and includes the 2016 single Murdered Out.

On the upcoming release, Gordon says, “‘Why a solo record? And why now? I don’t know, but it wouldn’t have happened without the persistence of Justin Raisen. Living in LA the last few years it feels like home, but the transience of the place makes it feel sometimes like no home.”

Accompanying the announcement is a video for the new single Sketch Artist. Directed by Loretta Fahrenholz, the clip is based on a haunted car ride. “Kim drives as ‘Unter’ Pool summons passengers throughout nighttime LA,” Fahrenholz explains. “The city drifts by, passengers intermingle in the back seat and Kim’s deadly stare shocks pedestrians along her route.” Watch the video via the player above.

Gordon’s announcement follows her recent solo exhibition She Bites Her Tender Mind at the Irish Museum of Modern Art, and Lo-Fi Glamour at Pittsburgh’s Warhol Museum.

Check out the new artwork and tracklist below for No Home Record. You can pre-order the LP here.

No Home Record, Kim Gordon

01. Sketch Artist
02. Air BnB
03. Paprika Pony
04. Murdered Out
05. Don’t Play It
06. Cookie Butter
07. Hungry Baby
08. Earthquake
09. Get Yr Life Back