Ryuichi Sakamoto scores new Luca Guadagnino short film The Staggering Girl

The film will be released on MUBI on 15 February.

Ryuichi Sakamoto has composed the score for Call Me By Your Name and Suspiria director Luca Gaudagnino’s new short film The Staggering Girl. Due for release via streaming platform MUBI on 15 February, the short stars Julianne Moore and was produced in collaboration with Valentino creative director Pierpaolo Piccioli.

“When approaching the score for The Staggering Girl, I wanted to incorporate the tactile sound of Valentino’s fabrics,” Sakamoto said. “So I asked them to send me some samples and utilizing special sensitive microphones, I experimented ‘playing’ the fabrics. I love the sound and how it forces one’s attention to a sound all around us, yet almost entirely ignored.”

Sakamoto’s score will be released a day ahead of the film itself on 14 February.

Watch the trailer for The Staggering Girl, which features a clip of Sakamoto’s score, in the player above and check out the album’s artwork and tracklist below.



01 The Staggering Girl
02 Woman in Yellow
03 Woman in Yellow II
04 Casa
05 Woman in Yellow III
06 Night Garden
07 Toni
08 Tangling
09 Roma
10 Dance
11 Dance (Ambient Version)