Semibreve unveils full 2020 programme

Laurel Halo
Laurel Halo © James Perolls

The Portuguese festival has announced the final additions to its 2020 programme.

Tyondai Braxton joins the line-up, along with Jim O’Rourke and multidisciplinary artist Jessica Ekomane. The festival will host new sound works from the three artists. Those previously announced for specially commissioned recordings include Ana da Silva, Kara-Lis Coverdale and Keith Fullerton Whitman.

Furthermore, Semibreve will host roundtable discussions with David Toop, Nkisi, Nik Void, Margarida Mendes and more. There’ll also be specially filmed performances by Laurel Halo, Oliver Coates, Klara Lewis and Gustavo Costa.

The festival has also announced the winner of its annual EDIGMA SEMIBREVE Award. German artist Merani Schilcher wins this year’s award with his interactive installation Unknown Territories – Searching For Islands, which compares islands to the shape of sand moulded by users.

Semibreve will host its first ever digital edition this year, on 24-25 October. Head to the event’s website for further information, and listen to Nkisi’s Crack Mix.