Ryuichi Sakamoto, Lafawndah and Lyra Pramuk feature on new six-minute compilation

PRSNT has been compiled by Barcelona label Modern Obscure Music and Created By Us.

PRSNT is a new compilation project commenting on digital overload, social media addiction and 21st century music consumption. A global cast of electronic artists, such as Ryuichi Sakamoto, Visible Cloaks, Lafawndah, Lyra Pramuk, Laurie Spiegel, Kelman Duran and more, feature on the approximately six-and-a-half-minute-long compilation. Each track included is around 32 seconds long. 

The compilation was put together by Christian Lopez and Pedro Rufi, curators of Barcelona-based label Modern Obscure Music, as well as Created By Us. They discovered a study which “identified that the overwhelming volume of instantly accessible information online is shortening attention spans and altering how audiences engage with music digitally.” They continued researching the topic, and later found that “around a third of all listeners using digital platforms skip to the next track, within the first 30 seconds of playing.”

Compilation proceeds will be donated to a mental health charity in order to help “fund the fight against the real-life impacts of excessive over consuming and digital addictions.”

PRSNT is scheduled for release on 16 April via Modern Obscure Music and Created By Us. Check out the tracklist below as well as a trailer created by Digo Studio. You can also listen to Visible Cloaks’ contribution over on Bandcamp.

01. Laurie Spiegel – Fly By
02. Pedro Vian & Pierre Bastien – Memory
03. Lyra Pramuk – CAGE
04. Chassol – YA!
05. Nicolas Godin & Pierre Rousseau – Page Turner
06. Pascal Comelade – Segons com
07. Visible Cloaks – Lifeworld
08. Raül Refree – Vid2020
09. Lucrecia Dalt – Cosa
10. Kelman Duran – Dead Cat
11. Lafawndah – From Name-less City
12. Ryuichi Sakamoto – Silence