Emma-Jean Thackray announces new album Yellow, shares first single

Emma-Jean Thackray © Joe Magowan
© Joe Magowan

Emma-Jean Thackray has announced her debut album.

Entitled Yellow, the LP is a “record about togetherness, the oneness of all things in the universe, showing love and kindness, human connection”. The artist has shared the lead single, Say Something, today (27 April) and it comes with a video directed by British-Afghan filmmaker Avesta Keshtmand.

Inspired by the themes and aesthetics of sci-fi, psychedelica and B movies, Thackray and Keshtmand tell the story of an outsider at a dinner party full of mass-produced foods and judgemental side-glances. In the video, Thackray escapes to somewhere more natural, flowery and free. Watch it above, and read more about the video in our interview with Keshtmand.

Scroll down for the album artwork and tracklist.

Emma-Jean Thackray, Yellow

1. Mercury
2. Say Something
3. About That
4. Venus
5. Green Funk
6. Third Eye
7. May There Be Peace
8. Sun
9. Golden Green
10. Spectre
11. Rahu & Ketu
12. Yellow
13. Our People
14. Mercury (In Retrograde)