Back in 2013, Londoner Jimmy Asquith quietly minted the now-ubiquitous record label Lobster Theremin with an impressive debut release from a promising new producer: fellow Londoner Jay Donaldson – now known world over as Palms Trax.

Since then, the label boss has found himself thrust to the epicentre of the global dance music scene, operating a vast network of sub- and sister-labels, and looking after a staggering roster of artists that includes Palms Trax, Ross From Friends, DJ Seinfeld, Imre Kiss, Ozel AB and dozens of others.

Over the years the Lobster Theremin empire has expanded rapidly to incorporate a respected distribution service, and a physical record shop based in Hackney. With a physical home and vibrant team of full-time employees, the operation stands as a welcome reminder of what can still be achieved in an industry so often assumed to be cash-strapped and devoid of prospects.

Behind the decks, Asquith maintains a busy international touring schedule whilst holding down a regular slot on Rinse FM and hosting the sell-out Find Me In The Dark parties at Corsica Studios.

In 2016 he released his first solo record: a subdued techno EP on Where To Now?, released under the mysterious Tom Hang alias. Now, two years on, he is set to resurrect the alias for his debut LP, To Be Held In Non Position – an accomplished, emotionally charged debut that draws on noise, drone and ambient house to captivating effect.

His mix for us showcases “recent club influences and unreleased gems”, and indicates a marked shift towards UK-rooted sonics: bleeps and breaks tie together stomping techno, lurid acid bangers and twisted hardcore mutations. As well as a whole host of unreleased Lobster Theremin, the mix features stand out newies from Ciel, softcoresoft, Tommy Holohan and Tambo’s House. Check out the full track-list below.

Snow Bone – Lodge Ozarks
Imre Kiss – She Moves Through Fire
Supreems – Close Your Eyes (And Feel)
Route 8 – Turning Point
Tambo’s House – Ricochet
Blair Sound Design – I’m Real About Ya (Woof Mix)
Ciel – Electronic Encounters
Violet – Chachki
softcoresoft – Acid She Said
Snow Bone – Aelita
Lou Karsh – Chumba Acid
Reptant – Is It Human (Scales Deep Mix)
Tommy Holohan – Subaru Impreza
dust-e-1 – one on one